Banana Nut Bread


Banana Nut Bread at Fourth Broomstick

 

I made a banana nut bread this morning. I wasn’t really in the mood for something sweet or actually all that creative (what?!). Really, I just wanted something to photograph, and I wanted something to do with the tons of ripe bananas we had. I found a recipe on 101 Cookbooks that baked the bananas (still in the skins) before adding it to the bread batter. So I tried baking the bananas first! (I didn’t follow the rest of that recipe, I made up my own). I really couldn’t tell a difference, to be honest, but they may have been the fault of the simplicity of the overall recipe that didn’t let the baked bananas shine.

Banana Nut Bread at Fourth Broomstick

Banana Nut Bread recipe

3 bananas

two handfuls of nuts

1/4 cup pumpkin

1/4 cup water

2 cups sifted flour

vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon baking powder

2 eggs

Toast nuts on the stove at medium heat, stirring occasionally so they don’t burn. Bake bananas until the skins are dark and they start to ooze. Cool before mixing with the rest of the ingredients.

Combine flour, baking powder, a salt, and whatever seasoning you wish. Slide the baked bananas out of their skins and mash. Beat in eggs and vanilla extract (I also added banana flavoring too….), pumpkin and water. Add wet ingredients to dry, add water or milk if necessary. Fold in nuts

Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 35-40 minutes.

Banana Nut Bread at Fourth Broomstick

One response to “Banana Nut Bread

Leave a Reply

