Onion Fennel Orange Upside-down Shortcake


(Kim here.)

Whoa, what a title, there’s a lot in this recipe! I made it the other day from the Savory Baking Cookbook by Mary Cech. Like I’ve said a million times, I love this cookbook. The Chili Cheese bread is pretty much ridiculously amazing (tonight I made corn muffins, and you bet I dropped about a cup of cheese into the batter when no one was looking.) (Just kidding, people were looking, and they definitely didn’t care ).

I’m doing a 365 photography challenge and today I was…. a bit lazy, you could say. Instead of taking a new picture, I used the onion upside-down cake photo from two days ago, but hadn’t yet had time to edit and post. I’m a busy woman, so I don’t mind having two photoshoots on a day when I have the time. I won’t get too much into it, but I don’t really like this photo too much. I’m think I’m still sad I’m not Katie Quinn Davis. ; )

onion fennel orange upside-down shortcake

Onion Topping
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
3 medium onions, thinly sliced
1/2 cup dry sherry
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon fennel seeds
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup water (I forgot this)
1 small red bell pepper, roasted, peeled, and roughly chopped (I forgot this too)

Shortcake
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
zest of 1 medium orange
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, cold and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 cup whole milk

Combine all the onion topping ingredients – except the last two! – into a large saucepan and cook on medium high for 25 minutes.

To prepare shortcake, put the flour, baking powder, salt, orange zest, and butter in your food processor. Pulse for 10 seconds the mixture is well-combined. It’ll look pretty much the same, so I tasted it to make sure the butter was fully incorporated. You may want to test this yourself mostly because it tastes good. Add the milk and pulse until the mixture forms a dough. You could eat it at this stage too, I wouldn’t blame you.

Add the red peppers and 1/2 water to the onions. I completely forgot to do this, and it still turned out, but I’m thinking it might have been even BETTER with these ingredients. Can’t say for sure.

Spread the dough over the onions. I had difficulty doing this. It was certainly not as easy as wasting time on Pinterest. Just try and cover the onions and you’ll be okay. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the shortcake comes out clean. Cool about five minutes, then set a plate over the pan and carefully flip it over so the cake falls out of the pan. Serve IMMEDIATELY. Or you can wait and eat it later.

Leave a Reply

