Sweet Potato Gnocchi


Kim here!

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Mushroom Sauce

At a local farmer’s market, my mom and sister bought frozen sweet potato gnocchi. It sat in the freezer for a while, not forgotten, but waiting for the perfect family meal to eat it. After a couple weeks of this, my mom pointed out to the ignorant Beth and I that the package was only two servings. I ate it the next day for lunch.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Mushroom Sauce

And it was amazing! I love gnocchi because of it’s truffle-like texture! Sometimes I feel like it doesn’t matter what something tastes like, as long as it’s the right texture! That’s how I managed to love the slightly under-baked quick breads Beth and I used to make that had barely any sugar or fats. The amazing texture! Under-baked brownies, gnocchi, dumplings, and the slightly tougher ends of microwaved sweet potatoes are some of my favorite foods because of this texture.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Mushroom Sauce

When I made the sweet potato gnocchi the first time, I wasn’t sure what it would taste like. I made the mushroom sauce because I had recently made it for an Austrian meal I cooked for Father’s Day and I had really liked it. I do think that the mushroom sauce didn’t go too well with the gnocchi, and I probably wouldn’t do it again. The gnocchi alone tasted as if it needed another flavor, but any sauce covered up the sweet potato taste!

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Mushroom Sauce

What I ended up doing was licking the sauce off the precious gnocchi and then eating the gnocchi alone! Today I had it again for lunch and ate it sans sauce, but with roasted peanuts! It was delicious! I probably would have eaten it with peanut butter, but – alas- we are out of both crunchy and smooth.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Mushroom Sauce

I think the nutty taste really added to it, and do did the crunchiness. I’m very sorry it’s gone – I really want some more! I had to make due with yogurt mixed with pumpkin (also very delicious, I may as well point out).

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Mushroom Sauce

3 responses to “Sweet Potato Gnocchi

  • MOM

    And for those wondering if our kitchen really has all those mushrooms just sitting around looking oh so picturesque, well…………….. I will say we have had a lot more vegetables laying around the kitchen since Beth and Kim have been home.

  • Beth Berens

    Yay to mom’s comment. Nay to the fact that you ate the last of the Gnocci, but it’s understandable and I’ve decided to forgive you.

  • caron lyn

    What I’ve been wanting to make for the longest time is sweet potato gnocchi from scratch. The idea of adding peanut butter just sounds like bliss.

Leave a Reply

