Sweet Little Things: Honey Cornbread


I don’t know if my love of corn is due to my good taste or that all of humanity is, in a way, conditioned to crave corn, but I LOVE cornbread. Cornbread is another one of those things you can add things to to make it unique and fun. This time, while still keeping it safe (I was cooking for my entire family), I managed to make my dad, who doesn’t care for cornbread, like the muffin!

Photo by Back to the Cutting Board's Flickr stream via compfight.com

While Kim is a big fan of spicy cornbread, when I’m in the mood for cornbread, I want sweet honey cornbread! I added Pour Boy’s Honey, honey from Michigan, that’s somehow more natural (it’s not so liquidy, but I don’t really know why).

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1/2 cup honey
2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. kosher salt
1 egg
1 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil

Bake 10 minutes or until toothpick comes out however you want it to come out (I like it a little underdone xP)

My review: Loved them! After 10 minutes, they weren’t too dry or too moist (is there such a thing as too moist? I eat the batter.) Kim made cornbread dumplings the other day and they were SOO moist, it was delicious. That recipe will come soon!

2 responses to “Sweet Little Things: Honey Cornbread

Leave a Reply

