Jazzy Eggs


Silly Beth, cottage cheese doesn’t go in eggs!

So eggs are amazing, yes? Yes. But eventually, one gets tired of just pain eggs. I did, so years ago I became adventurous and started adding random things to it to see how it’d taste.

First, I added cheese. A bit after that I took a leap and I sauteed onions before adding the eggs to the frying pan. I roamed new territories as other veggies followed. Now I’ll put just about anything in my eggs and usually I love it.

It’s fun using left overs in your eggs. I don’t mean, like, pasta leftovers or anything, but Kim and I had a bit of left over black beans and corn, and some cottage cheese, so that’s what I used in the photo above. (Plus a bit of salsa!)

To keep the adventure metaphors going, adding the cottage cheese was like climbing a steep mountain in a blizzard. And I made it to the top!

Here’s a list of great add-ins (best when sauteed first):

  • onion
  • bell peppers
  • tomatoes
  • mushrooms
  • spinach (yep)
  • corn
  • salsa
  • beans
  • cheese
  • cottage cheese
  • turkey pastrami
  • bacon
  • Canadian bacon
  • ham
  • sausage
  • ANYTHING, really

I would have never thought of putting cottage cheese in scrambled eggs, but I realized that we put cottage cheese in our healthy quiche recipe to replace heavy cream… And that wasn’t too weird of a concept (and it tasted amazing!) so I thought, why not put it in my eggs! It’s a little extra protein punch too!

And of course I added spices! I can’t remember what I put in here, but here are some great combinations of spices!

1. Mexican-ish:

  • chili powder
  • cumin
  • red pepper flakes
  • maybe some curry
  • (Oooh, and Chipotle Tabasco, anyone??)

2.Italian-ish

  • oregano
  • basil
  • Italian seasoning

It keeps the morning interesting! Breakfast is what gets me up in the morning and I think you know why, now. I look forward to breakfast every time I go to bed, already imaging what fun things I can do to my eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, etc.

Guten Morgen! Genießen Sie Ihr Früstück! (Good morning! Enjoy your breakfast!)

-Beth

 

4 responses to “Jazzy Eggs

Leave a Reply

