Butternut Squash Quiche


Ironically enough, we made this quiche on a snow day, and I got the idea for the recipe from a blog (I’ll post the link later), in which SHE made this recipe on a snow day! So it’s perfect for lazy mornings when you have a little extra time. It does take a while to cook, but it’s SOOO worth it! Quiche is one of my favorite things, and butternut squash is amazing, and crust is delicious, and this is all of those things together!

Butternut Squash Quiche on a Snow Day!

As our university had closed due to snow for the first time in 30 or 40 years, Kim and I wanted to make the most of our day off. I pointed out that we had a butternut squash that we wanted to cook soon, but not much else, food-wise. So we wanted to do something with that. But what breakfast dish does one cook with butternut squash? I was searching through my bookmarked recipes on my computer when I found the perfect thing: Butternut Squash Quiche! It was fate.

So the next morning I woke up to Kim having started baking the squash. It still had 35 minutes to cook. Then we had to prepare and cook the quiche for another 45 minutes. Oy. I was already hungry.

We ended up with two small breakfasts that morning, but incorporate this dish into your eating schedule any way you desire.

You will need:

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1/2 medium onion
  • 4-5 eggs
  • 4 oz creme friache (or cottage cheese)
  • seasoning of you choice (we did garlic ginger paste and salt)

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Wash and cut butternut squash in half, lengthwise. Scoop out seeds. Kim put garlic and ginger paste and olive oil on the ‘flesh’ of the squash (and onions) before putting it, cut-side down on a  walled pan (like you’d make brownies in), with a little bit of water (to keep it moist; otherwise it could develop a skin over the cut part).

Prepare a crust recipe now and let sit in fridge for 30 minutes. Then roll out and place in pie pan.

We kept the skin on the squash (it is perfectly edible, tasty, and very good for you!), but you can cut off the skin now if you want. Then slice the squash. and place over crust in pie pan.

Mix together eggs, creme friache and salt and pour over squash.

Bake for 35-45 minutes. Ours still looked just a tad ‘liquidy’ still, after 40-ish minutes, but we let it sit for a few minutes and it thickened a bit.

Butternut Squash Quiche

What we thought: It was really good, but I really LOVED the quiche that we made before, with the cottage cheese. I’d like to make it again with that. The butternut squash is so… savory and very complementary to the eggs and the creme friache. I’d love to try it with pumpkin too! I wonder what it would taste like all pureed together????

-Beth

2 responses to “Butternut Squash Quiche

  • A Tablespoon of Liz

    Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog! You’ve got an awesome one as well, so many delicious sounding recipes! I love butternut squash, I would have never thought to put it in a quiche!

    • Beth Berens

      I know, same here, I never thought to put it in quiche, until I came across this recipe. It tastes so good together, I can’t believe I spent my life NOT eating butternut squash in quiche! lol.
      -Beth

Leave a Reply

