Chicken with Peanut Tomato Sauce


If the sound of a peanut chicken recipe sounds too strange, remind yourself of Pad Thai, a heavily peanut focused meat dish! Then this might not seem so weird. Well, it is actually a little weird – but still really good!

Peanut Oil (or any cooking oil)

4-6 Chicken breasts

1 large onion, cut up

1-2 cloves garlic

1 cup tomato paste (or tomato sauce)

1 cup peanut butter

Enough water to achieve desired consistency.

Cayenne, Red Pepper, Salt and Pepper

This can be a sauce or curry. I made it as a curry. Mine was a curry, and I kept it thick because we didn’t have rice to eat it with. If you’re making a curry, cut up the chicken and brown it in a frying pan with the oil.

Then set the chicken aside and fry the onions and garlic in the same pot. Stir in tomato paste, reduce heat ad simmer a few minutes. Return chicken to pot and stir in peanut butter. Cook on LOW HEAT, or else the peanut butter will scorch (apparently). Stir in spices and enough water to achieve desired sauce consistency. Simmer, covered until chicken is done.

What we thought: Kim loved it, I liked it a lot. My mom liked it, I think. My brother and my dad ate it. My families not used to weird things for dinner and this night, alongside peanut tomato chicken curry, I had made cinniman rice (I was attempting to make rice pudding, cooking it risotto-style rather than in the oven – it was tasty!

)

-Beth

Leave a Reply

