Spicy Island Cornbread – Ethnic Vegetarian


Kim here with a great spicy cornbread recipe!

I have made only one recipe from the book, The Ethnic Vegetarian, but the names of the recipes alone make this book so appealing to me. Not only is there spicy island cornbread, but there is South African corn pudding, fruit and sweet potato fritters, peanut biscuits, caribbean sweet potato bisque, and black bean and plantain fritters. Seriously. this book is for me. I don’t own it, but rented it from my local library. I know I need to own this now.

The  spicy island cornbread was amazing, and I didn’t even have tofu or hot sauce like the recipe calls for. (I love spicy cornbread, but I was home for the holidays and I took all the hot sauce from my parents for my own apartment. Talk about backfiring.)

The recipe I did was similar to the original and goes like this.

Ingredients:

1 cup cornmeal
1 cup whole wheat or all-purpose flour (I used the latter)
3 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cayenne pepper
1 large egg
1 cup milk (original recipe calls for soymilk)
4 tablespoons sour cream (original recipe calls for 2 oz soft tofu)
1/4 cup softened butter
2 tsp orange juice (I used this to replace the lack of hot sauce, it was delicious!)
1 tsp grated orange zest

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Sift flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, garlic powder, black pepper, salt, cayenne pepper.

Beat egg, add milk, sour cream, butter, orange juice, and orange zest. Mix together.

Combine wet to dry ingredients. It will be bery thin liquid. Pour into prepared muffin tin. Bake for 20 minutes. Makes 12.

This was a delicious and spicy bread. Peppery and sweet and buttery, and would have been spicy if I put in the hot sauce. If you really don’t like spice, you can omit the cayenne pepper. It will still be a great muffin!

2 responses to “Spicy Island Cornbread – Ethnic Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

